Weather Forecast


Twin 25s hit the track Sunday

Darrell Nelson, shown here in action last Friday at the AMSOIL Speedway, is expected to be back in action Sunday for the 10th running of the AMSOIL Twin Ports Twin 25s. Nelson is the events all-time leading money winner. (Photo courtesy of Tom Krob/

By Jonathan M. Powers

The AMSOIL Twin Ports Twin 25s, one of the premier events at AMSOIL Speedway, is scheduled for Sunday and will have a payout of more than $26,000 in purse and bonuses.

The Twin 25s is WISSOTA’s highest paying single day Late Model show, and both 25-lap Late Model features are run for identical $1,500 to win, $200 to start payoffs.

Because of the balanced purse structure, 10 or more drivers have collected checks in excess of $1,000 for participating in the Twin 25s each year since its inception.

In the nine year history of the event, 121 different drivers have competed. No driver has ever won both 25-lap features, collecting the bonus that is available to do so. John Kaanta came the closest to sweeping the events in 2012, finishing second in the first feature and storming from his 16th place starting position to win the second segment.

More than 120 different drivers have competed in the nine previous AMSOIL Twin 25s. Nine drivers have attended all nine events with only Steve Laursen and Darrell Nelson having a perfect record of qualifying for every main.

Nelson is the all-time leading money winner, collecting $14,625 from the annual event. Six drivers have won more than $10,000.

Once again Powers & Associates optometrists will pay a $500 bonus to the driver with the highest average finish in the twin features.

If the same driver wins both features the bonus will double to $1,000 for a total winner’s purse of $4,000.

Back again for this year’s running is a “Non-Qualifiers Fan” participation pool. Como Oil & Propane has started off this year’s pot at $300.

The premise of the bonus is to develop a pool of money that will be distributed evenly amongst all non-qualifying Late Models at the AMSOIL Twins. This bonus is in addition to the tow money. The more money raised, the more money divided among the non-qualifiers. 

AMSOIL Speedway will be supporting this year’s long tow bonus. The three drivers making the longest tows to the Twin 25s, based on Mapquest mileage, will each receive an additional $100 “gas money,” courtesy of the speedway.

The first 10 Late Model drivers who haven’t raced at Superior in three or more years, who preregister, will have their entry fee paid by AMSOIL. Drivers can call Joe Stariha to preregister at 218-348-7367.

Longtime local racing supporters, Dennis and Cathy Pattee have added a $100 “hard charger” award to each of the 25-lap features for the driver advancing the most positions in each race.

All Late Model drivers that race at Shawano (Wis.) Speedway or Jamestown (N.D.) Speedway on Saturday will be given a free entry fee for the 2015 AMSOIL Twin 25s.

Because the race takes place on a Canadian holiday weekend, it always attracts many racers from Canada. St. Croix Electric initiated a bonus pot for the highest average finish by a Canadian driver.

It started at $200 and thanks to fan donations, the “Canadian Bonus” is now $450. The highest average finish by a Canadian driver will take the pot in addition to his regular winnings.

The complete racing line-up for The AMSOIL Twin Ports Twin 25s will include WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds and AMSOIL Speedway Pure Stocks. Fans are reminded that the Late Models will run a 25-lap feature followed by the winner’s blind draw determining the inversion for the second 25-lap feature.

This inversion will be at least eight cars, but no more than 16. This year will be the 10th edition of the popular event.

Fans wanting to contribute to either the non-qualifier pot or the highest finishing Canadian pot can do so to either Stariha or Troy Powers.

The draw cut off is 4:30 p.m. Sunday with hot laps scheduled for 5 p.m. with racing to follow at 5:30 p.m.

For more information call Starhia, 218-349-7367.

Twin Ports Twin 25s Past Winners


Feature 1: Kelly Estey

Feature 2: Joey Jensen


Feature 1: Terry Casey

Feature 2: Joel Cryderman


Feature 1: Steve Laursen

Feature 2: John Massingill


Feature 1: Harry Hanson

Feature 2: A.J. Diemel


Rained out


Feature 1: Darrell Nelson

Feature 2: Justin Fegers


Feature 1: Darrell Nelson

Feature 2: Kerry Hanson


Feature 1: Brady Smith

Feature 2: John Kaanta


Feature 1: Brent Larson

Feature 2: Steve Laursen


Feature 1: Jeff Provenzino

Feature 2: Darrell Nelson