Weather Forecast


Packers’ Rodgers breaks collarbone, may be out for season

Vang, Nelson, VanHouse, McFadden rule Proctor WISSOTA division

By Jerry O’Brien

It was night No. 3 for the Proctor Speedway as the 2014 season has finally gotten under way as we head for the first day of summer. A total of 73 cars were in action. Preliminary qualifying heats set the feature lineups. There were three heats in the Midwest Modified division with Mack Estey, Mark Kangas and Deven VanHouse posting wins. Single heats for the Super Stocks and Late Models were won by Scott Lawrence and Tim McMann respectively while Dustin Follett and Austin Blom took the Pure Stock heats.

The night also included kids bike races.

Proctor Speedway

Sunday, June 8 (73 cars)

WISSOTA Late Models (9 cars)

Feature (20 laps): Darrell Nelson, Hermantown; Kyle Peterlin, Hibbing; Aaron Lillo, Proctor; Harry Hanson, Eveleth; Terry Lillo, Duluth; Kevin Carlson, Hermantown; Cory Jorgenson, Hermantown. DNF: Josh Johnson, Superior; Tim McMann, Duluth.

Heat (8 laps): McMann; Hanson; A. Lillo; T. Lillo; Carlson; Jorgenson; Johnson. DNF: Peterlin.

WISSOTA Modified (15 cars)

Feature (20 laps): Deven VanHouse, Silver Bay; Jeff Broking, Grand Rapids; Jody Bellefeuille, Duluth; Darrell Nelson, Hermantown; Nick Musel, Duluth; Cory Jorgenson, Hermantown; Brian Mikkonen, Iron River; Cory Sersha, Eveleth; E.J. Hietala, Cloquet; Rick Niemi, Eveleth; Kevin Eder, Ashland; Nikki Wrazidlo, Duluth; Scott Heikkinen, Eveleth. DNF: Kelly Estey, Kelly Lake. DNS: Neil Balduc Bessemer.

Heat 1 (8 laps): Balduc; Broking; VanHouse; Jorgenson; Eder; Sersha; Hietala. DNF: Estey.

Heat 2 (8 laps): Bellefeuille; Nelson; Mikkonen; Musel; Heikkinen; Wrazidlo. DNF: Niemi

WISSOTA Super Stock (9 cars)

Feature (20 Laps): Shawn McFadden, Ashland; Nick Oreskovich, Mason; Kevin Burdick, Proctor; Scott Lawrence, Superior; Kevin Salin, Iron; Brian Carl, Duluth; Dan Yrjanson, Carlton; Ronnie Malecki, Superior. DNF: Pat Heikkinen, Eveleth.

Heat (8 laps): Lawrence; McFadden; Burdick; Salin; Yrjanson; Oreskovich; Carl. DNF: Malecki. DNS: Heikkinen.

Pure Stock (18 cars)

Feature (15 laps): Dustin Follett, Cloquet; Ryan Savoy, Superior; Josh Loucks, Carlton; Glenn Dammer, Hermantown; Matt Deragon, Ashland; Austin Blom, Saginaw; Lucas Carlson, Cloquet; Mike Blevins, Hibbing; Brandle Pupp, Ashland; Annika Hammitt, Cloquet; Jeremy Theisen; Mark Korte, Duluth; Matt Hammitt, Cloquet; Matt Cunha, Hibbing; Jason Calhoun, Barnum; Shaina Rapp, Saginaw. DNF: Jon Hammitt, Cloquet; Jeff Schleski, Superior.

Heat 1 (8 laps): Follett; Loucks; J. Hammitt; Savoy; Blevins; A. Hammitt; Korte; Rapp. DNF: M. Hammitt.

Heat 2 (8 laps): Blom; Dammer; Pupp; Calhoun; Deragon; Carlson; Theisen; Cunha; Schleski.