Weather Forecast


Twins to play two games in Puerto Rico in 2018, open season on March 29

Minnesota Twins second basemen Brian Dozier (2) makes a throw to first for an out against the Kansas City Royals during the first inning at Kauffman Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Peter G. Aiken-USA TODAY Sports

Major League Baseball released its 2018 regular-season schedule on Tuesday with a wrinkle that hasn't been seen in 50 years.

All 30 teams will begin their respective season on March 29, marking the first time in a half-century that every club opens play on the same day. The 1968 campaign began with all 20 teams in action.

In addition, March 29 represents the earliest start to a major league season, excluding special international events. It also marks only the 12th time in league history -- and first since 2011 -- that the season will begin on a Thursday.

The Minnesota Twins and Indians will travel to San Juan, Puerto Rico for a two-game series at Hiram Bithorn Stadium on April 17-18. The Twins will host the games, which will mark the first regular-season action on the island since the New York Mets faces the then-Florida Marlins in 2010.

Washington will host All-Star Week, culminating in the 89th Midsummer Classic on July 17.

To view the complete 2018 Minnesota Twins schedule, click here.