Weather Forecast


Voters decide city and rural races

Jim Paine poses with his wife Katie outside of the Cedar Lounge in Superior on Tuesday evening after learning he was elected to be the new mayor of Superior. Jed Carlson /

Superior has a new mayor and two new city councilors following Tuesday’s election.

Douglas County Board vice chairman, Jim Paine, won his bid over City Councilor Brent Fennessey with 58 percent of the vote.

While Paine won’t take office for two weeks, he said he plans to hit the ground running by meeting local leaders and city department heads so he can get started on day one.

“I want to start meeting with community leaders, especially department heads, because there is a lot of work to be done,” Paine said. “I’ll be meeting with the development team this week. I will actually having some soft meetings with other community leaders, and what I call visionaries. I think a lot of people have a vision for this community.”

Paine said when he does take office in two weeks, his first priorities will be setting up a housing task force and getting to work to develop the North End.

In addition to the mayor’s race, three city council seats were contested. Newcomers Jenny Van Sickle in the 2nd District defeated challenger Bryce Harp with 59 percent of the vote. Van Sickle replaces Councilor Tom Fennessey who decided not to run for re-election.

Craig Sutherland will replace four-term City Councilor Mike Herrick after taking 62 percent of the vote in the 8th District.

Only incumbent Councilor Graham Garfield held onto his seat in the 6th District by carrying one more vote than his challenger, businessman Tylor Elm.

Councilors Jack Sweeney in the 4th District and Esther Dalbec in the 10th ran unopposed Tuesday.    

On the Superior School Board, two new members will be joining. Laura Gapske and Mary Smith-Johnson, newcomers to the board, were the top two vote-getters in the four-way race for two seats, defeating incumbents Mary Klun and Steven Stupak.    

In Dairyland, voters chose Fran Reinhardt for town chairman, defeating incumbent Ron Deyo with 72 percent of the vote, and town Supervisor Russell Sullivan lost his seat to Matt Holter. Supervisor Tony Stelsel held onto his seat.

Gordon voters rejected Supervisor Ted Flamang’s bid for re-election but retained Supervisor Pam Boettcher. James Hankins garnered the most votes to join the Gordon Town Board.

Hawthorne voters rejected Tim White’s efforts to join the Town Board, retaining Supervisors Guy Clemmer and Conrad Johnson.

Randy Markon joins the Maple Town Board as a supervisor after voters rejected Marty Laakso’s bid for re-election. Jon TePoel held onto his seat.

Supervisors Jan Dalbec and Bob Zimmerman held onto their seats after voters rejected Joanne Thompson and Roger LeTourneau for the Superior Town Board.