Weather Forecast


School board races contested

Douglas County voters can pick from an array of candidates in this spring’s school board election.

The large number of candidates in the Solon Springs race will trigger a primary election Feb. 18.

“We haven’t had that many candidates for a long time,” said Solon Springs Principal Sue Chandler.

Voters in the Solon Springs School District must choose from five candidates to fill two seats on the Solon Springs School Board. Incumbents Matthew Blaylock and Lucy Linsmeyer are joined on the ballot by Keith Nordskog, Jonathon Brostowitz and Ryan Smith.

The district encompasses the town and village of Solon Springs as well as students from the town of Bennett and village of Lake Nebagamon.

Maple school district

The School Board of Maple has three seats opening up this spring, currently held by Gail Saari, Brian Linder and James Streveler. All three incumbents are running for re-election, and they face a challenger on the ballot, Danna Livingston-Matherly of Lake Nebagamon. Saari, of Maple, has served on the school board since 1999. Lind, of Lake Nebagamon, was elected to the board first in 2008 and is finishing his second term. Streveler of Cloverland first served from 2003 to 2009 and was re-elected to the board in 2011.

Superior school district

Four contenders have stepped forward to fill two seats on the Superior School Board. Incumbent Mary Klun will face off against newcomers Steve Stupak, James Farkas and Sheila Keup. John Hendricks, who currently holds the other seat, is not running for re-election.

Hendricks has served on the board since he was appointed in 2007. Klun served a three-year-term from 1995 to 1998. She was re-elected to the board in 1999 and has served since.

Although Stupak and Farkas have not served on the board before, their names may be familiar. Both were contenders in last year’s school board election.