Weather Forecast


Primary vote decides November ballot

Voters head to the polls Tuesday to decide a number of primary races from Capitol Hill to the state house to local county races.

Decisions made Tuesday will set the ballot for the Nov. 4 election to decide who represents us in Washington D.C., Madison and Douglas County.

Locally, Douglas County Sheriff Tom Dalbec is facing a challenge from Douglas County Board Supervisor Mark Liebaert for the Democratic ticket in November to face Republican Dan Bethards for the county’s top law enforcement position. And the Clerk of Courts race will be decided Tuesday. Democrats Michele Wick and David Leckel are vying for the job soon to be vacated by Joan Osty. The winner Tuesday is running unchallenged in November.

Voters in the region also decide who will move on to November’s election for representation in the state and nation’s Capitols.

In the 7th Congressional District, Sean Duffy of Weston, the incumbent, is facing a challenge from Don Raihala of Superior for the Republican nomination, and Kelly Westlund of Ashland is facing Michael Krsiean of St. Joseph for the Democratic nomination. The top vote-getters in each party face off in November.

With long-time state Sen. Bob Jauch, D-Poplar, retiring, three Democrats stepped forward for a chance to fill the seat. Rep. Janet Bewley of Ashland, Park Falls Mayor Tom Ratzlaff and Poplar businessman Gary Kauther are running for a chance to face Republican Dane Deutsch in November.

Replacing Bewley in the state Assembly after she filed non-candidate status for the 74th District seat drew two Democrats, Beth Meyers of Bayfield and Graham Garfield are vying for the spot to challenge Republican Jamey Francis in November.

Statewide, voters decide whether Democrats Mary Burke or Brett Husley move on to challenge Gov. Scott Walk; and Democrats John Lehman or Mary Jo Walter challenge Republican Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch.

Democrats Susan Happ, Ismael Ozanne and Jon Richards are vying for attorney general and the top vote-getter faces Republican Brad Schimel for the seat now held by J.B. Van Hollen.

Other primary challenges include Democrats David Leeper and David Santori, and Republicans Matt Adamczyk and Randall Melchert running for state treasurer; and Republicans Julian Bradley and Garey Bies vying for secretary of state.

The polls open at 7 a.m. Tuesday and remain open until 8 a.m.

In Douglas County, village residents cast their votes in their community — at the Lake Nebagamon Auditorium, village halls in Oliver, Poplar and Superior, and Solon Springs Community Center.

Polling locations are at town halls in most rural communities except in Maple and Oakland. Ballots are cast at the community center in Maple and at the Country Peace Presbyterian Church at 4694 S. County Road A in Oakland.

Voters in the 2nd and 4th districts cast their ballots at Zion Lutheran Church, 2022 E. Second St.; and voters in the 6th and 10th districts vote at the Salvation Army, 916 Hughitt Ave. Voters in the 5th and 7th districts cast ballots at Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College, 600 N. 21st St.; 8th and 9th districts at Billings Park Civic Center.

Voters in Superior’s 1st and 3rd districts — who voted at the Bong Memorial Airport — have a new location to cast ballots after the city council approved changing the polling location to provide more room for voters and poll workers. Voters in those districts now head to Superior Middle School, 3626 Hammond Ave., and use the doors just east of Hammond Avenue.

For more information, visit or call the municipal clerk in your community. Voters can confirm their polling location and view a sample ballot at