Weather Forecast


Updated: Few voters decide local races

In the city of Superior, where six seats for up for grabs, but none were contested, there were no surprises in the outcome, and all the candidates elected are seasoned veterans of city government. Councilors Dan Olson, Warren Bender, Denise McDonald, Bob Finsland and Esther Dalbec ran unopposed, as did former city councilor, Dennis Dalbec.   

Only four of the 21 open seats on the Douglas County Board were contested. Supervisors Pat Ryan, Kay Johnson and Larry Quam were returned to the board with more than 65 percent of the vote in their respective districts and will served another two-year term.

However, in the county’s 18th District, Rae Ann Anderson, town supervisor of Summit, handily defeated Douglas County Board Supervisor and Summit Town Chairman Dan Corbin. Anderson carried the district with 79 percent of the vote.

When the Superior School Board reorganizes later this month, two new members will join the board, each serving three-year terms. In the four-way race for two seats on the board, Steven Stupak carried 26 percent of the vote and Sheila Keup took 33 percent of the vote, defeating James Farkas and incumbent Mary Klun. Each only took 20 percent of the vote.

School boards throughout the county stood to gain new members.

With vote totals from Bayfield County still outstanding, Danna Livingston-Matherly, Gail Saari and James Streveler were leading the pack in the four-way race for three seats on the Maple School Board.

Matthew Blaylock and Ryan Smith were the top two vote-getters for two seats on the Solon Springs School Board.

In Wascott, incumbent Doug Hanson will be stepping down and Bill Stapp will be stepping up to the board after voters cast their ballots in favor of the challenger. Lynn Koalska held onto her seat on the town board.

Incumbent James Ohm in the village of Solon Springs was also defeated Tuesday. Todd Gilbert held onto his seat on the village board, and Jonathon Brostowitz and Ben Evans joint the board as the newest elected village trustees.

Countywide, only slightly more than 8 percent of the voters made their opinion known.