Weather Forecast


Make your vote count

Voters in Superior head to the polls today to decide school board, three council races and select the city's next mayor; countywide voters decide who will lead the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

City Councilor Brent Fennessey, 34, and Douglas County Board vice chairman Jim Paine, 35, are vying for a chance to lead the city for the next two years. The winner will finish the term of Mayor Bruce Hagen when he retires this month.

Voters in council districts that cover Itasca, Allouez, a portion of East End, neighborhoods adjacent to Belknap Street and downtown, and a portion of Billings Park all have a decision to make on who will represent them on the City Council.

In the 2nd District, where Councilor Tom Fennessey is stepping down, two candidates are vying to replace him. Jennifer Van Sickle, 34, and Bryce Harp, 25, are seeking a first two-year term to represent the district.

In the 6th District, one-term incumbent Graham Garfield, 26, is facing a challenge from businessman Tylor Elm, 31; and four-term incumbent Mike Herrick, 58, is facing a challenge from Craig Sutherland, 32, to represent the 8th District.

Voters in Dairyland, Gordon, Hawthorne, Maple and rural Superior decide contested races for town boards.

In the town of Dairyland, three candidates are vying for two seats — Tony Stelsel, Russell Sullivan and Matt Holter — and Fran Reinhardt and Ron Deyo are running for town chairman. James Hankins, Ted Flamang and Pam Boettcher in Gordon, and Guy Clemmer, Conrad Johnson and Tim White in Hawthorne are running for two seats on the respective boards. Maple voters decide among Randy Markon, Marty Laakso and Jon TePoel for two seats. In the town of Superior, voters decide among Jan Dalbec, Robert Zimmerman, Joanne Thompson and Roger LeTourneau to fill two seats on the two board.

Voters in the Superior school district also decide who will fill two seats on the school board. Incumbents Mary Klun and Steven Stupak face challenges from Mary Smith-Johnson and Laura Gapske.

Statewide, Tony Evers of Madison and Lowell Holtz of Beloit are in the running to lead the Department of Public Instruction for the state.

Voters will need a valid form of identification to cast their ballot today. Visit to make sure you have the right ID.

Polls open at 7 a.m. and remain open until 8 p.m., and new voters can register at the polls with proof of residency.

Village residents cast their votes in their community — at the Lake Nebagamon Auditorium, village halls in Oliver, Poplar and Superior, and Solon Springs Community Center.

Polling locations are at town halls in most rural communities except in Maple and Oakland. Ballots are cast at the community center in Maple and at Country Peace Presbyterian Church, 4694 S. County Road A, Oakland.

Voters in the 1st and 3rd districts in Superior cast ballots at Central Assembly of God Church, 3000 Hammond Ave.; 2nd and 4th districts at Zion Lutheran Church, 2022 E. Second St.; and 6th and 10th districts at the Salvation Army, 916 Hughitt Ave. Voters in the 5th and 7th districts cast ballots at Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College, 600 N. 21st St.; and 8th and 9th districts at Billings Park Civic Center, 3909 N. 18th St.

If you're not sure where to vote, go to or call your municipal clerk.