Weather Forecast


Spartans advance to state hockey tournament


Sweeping changes to NASCAR Chase will culminate in a one-race shootout

Email News Alerts

By Reid Spencer

NASCAR Wire Service


CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- It couldn't be any simpler.


The highest finisher among four eligible drivers in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway will win the championship.

No bonus for leading laps. No bonus points for leading the most laps. The one driver who finishes ahead of the other three takes home the trophy.

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet?

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.