Weather Forecast


Nystrom, Spartans all smiles after 4-2 win over Janesville


New requirements begin for FoodShare recipients in 3 counties

Email News Alerts

Noah Ovshinsky

Wisconsin Public Radio


Starting on Tuesday, FoodShare recipients in three Wisconsin counties will have to find work or go to school to continue to receive food stamps.

Racine, Kenosha and Walworth counties are serving as testing sites before the new requirements go statewide next year.

Claire Smith, a spokeswoman for the Wisconsin Department of Health Services, said these counties fit a certain profile.

Are you a newspaper subscriber but you don't have a Digital Access account yet?

You will need your subscription account number and phone number. Not sure if you have an account? Email us at and we can help you.