Weather Forecast


Lawrence, Sabraski, Vang and Hanson win Proctor mains

By Jerry O’Brien

Shane Sabraski, the WISSOTA “Iron Man,” brought three cars to the Proctor Speedway Sunday night but could only come away with a hard fought victory in the WISSOTA Modified feature.

In other action, Scott Lawrence increased his point lead in defense of his track championship. Harry Hanson -- though leading the Late Model points at the speedway -- notched his first feature win of the season. And Danny Vang got back on track with the feature win in the Midwest Modifieds. There were 65 cars in competition.

Proctor Speedway

Sunday, July 20

WISSOTA Late Model (9 cars)

Feature: Harry Hanson, Eveleth; Kyle Peterlin, Hibbing; Darrell Nelson, Hermantown; Tim McMann, Duluth; Terry Lillo, Duluth; Zach Wohlers, Kelly Lake; Todd Gehl, Solon Springs; Scott Herrick, Proctor. DNF: Robbie Cooper, South Range.

Heat: Peterlin; Hanson; McMann; Nelson; Wohlers; Lillo; Gehl; Cooper; Herrick.

WISSOTA Modified (14 cars)

Feature: Shane Sabraski, Rice, Minn.; Darrell Nelson, Hermantown; Jeff Broking, Grand Rapids; Nick Musel, Duluth; Jody Bellefeuille, Duluth; Deven VanHouse, Silver Bay; Brian Mikkonen, Iron River; Jamie Davis, Devlin, Ont.; E.J. Hietala, Cloquet; Niel Balduc, Bessemer; Scott Heikkinen, Eveleth; Donnie Lofdahl, Duluth; Nikki Wrazidlo, Duluth. DNF: Kelly Estey, Kelly Lake.

Heat 1: Sabraski; Bellefeuille; VanHouse; Broking; Heikkinen; Davis; Lofdahl.

Heat 2: Estey; Nelson; Hietala; Heikkonen; Wrazidlo; Balduc DNF: Musel.

WISSOTA Super Stock (11 cars)

Feature: Scott Lawrence, Superior; Kevin Burdick, Proctor; Shane Sabraski, Rice; Dan Yrjanson, Carlton; Shawn McFadden Jr., Ashland; Pat Heikkinen, Eveleth; Ronnie Malecki, Superior; Brian Carl, Duluth. DNF: Jared Zimpel, Ilse, Minn.; Don Muzzy, Ironwood; Kevin Salin, Iron, Minn.

Heat 1: Sabraski; Heikkinen; Muzzy; McFadden; Salin. DNF: Carl.

Heat 2: Lawrence; Burdick; Yrjanson; Zimpel. DNF: Malecki.

WISSOTA Midwest Modified (20 cars)

Feature: Danny Vang, Brainerd; Skeeter Estey, Kelly Lake; Mack Estey, Kelly Lake; Deven VanHouse, Silver Bay; Jake Gondik, Foxboro; Dan Kingsley, Superior; Jesse Ogston, Duluth; Cody Carlson, Superior; Jeff Klopstein, Tomahawk, Wis.; Justin Bassa, Hermantown; Carey LePage, Culver; Dale Soumala, Hermantown; Tyler Vernon, Ashland; Josh Heavirland, Cloquet; Josh Overn, Barnum. DNF: Dustin Skorich, Brainerd; Jeremy Lindquist, Ashland.

DNS: Dan Doran, Hermantown. DQ: Andy Inman, Hermantown.

Heat 1: M. Estey; Sabraski; Gondik; VanHouse; Ogston; LePage; Skorich,

Heat 2; Inman; Lindquist; Heavirland; Bassa; Soumala. DNF: Doran.

Pure Stock (11 cars)

Feature: Lucas Carlson, Cloquet; Mike Blevins, Hibbing; Josh Loucks, Carlton; Glenn Dammer, Hermantown; Mike Sirois, Hermantown; Matt Hammitt, Cloquet; Shaina Rapp, Saginaw; Richard Dzelak Jr., Superior. DNF: Austin Blom, Saginaw; Mark Korte, Duluth.

Heat 1: Carlson; Dzelak Jr.; Matt Cunha. DNF: Blevins; Korte; Dammer.

Heat 2: Sirois; M. Hammitt; Loucks; Rapp. DNF: Blom.