Weather Forecast


Lattery to defend Nemadji title; Olson going for fourth straight senior title

Maggie Lattery, in pink shirt, is followed by the gallery down the first playoff hole for her 2013 Women’s Invitational title. (Jed Carlson/

The Nemadji Women’s Invitational will have a retro feel Wednesday as the annual golf tournament celebrates its 68th year.

“We’re trying to keep it kind of old-fashioned,” said Barb Hoag, tournament organizer.

The event will follow a black and white theme, honoring the 68th year of the tournament and the 80th anniversary of the Nemadji Women’s Golf Club.

The Women’s Club held its first meeting in March 1934. At that time, a season pass at Nemadji cost $15. It cost 35 cents to play 18 holes of golf — 40 cents after 1 p.m.

“Times have changed,” said Hoag, laughing.

In Superior, women were just beginning to take up the sport. They could only golf on Wednesdays at the Nemadji Golf Course, and the annual Women’s Invitational remains on Wednesday as a nod to that now distant rule.

Six dozen women will play Wednesday at the 2014 Nemadji Women’s Invitational. This year’s event features 31 players in the open division and 41 in the Renna Rychlak Memorial Senior Invitational.

Play begins at 8:30 a.m. with a shotgun start. Golfers in the championship flight will play from the gold tees on the east-west course, and all other golfers use the red tees on the north-south course.

Hoag said she expects another exciting year in the championship flight.

In 2013, Maggie Lattery disrupted more than a decade of dominance by perennial winners Norma O’Leary and Deb Showalter when she defeated Showalter in a one-hole playoff.

Lattery, a 2008 graduate of Northwestern High School, returns to defend her title this year. Joining her in the championship flight are Showalter, O’Leary, Pat Kelly, Tricia Glanville and Jen Walter.

Barb Olson is the returning champion in the senior division. She will be challenged by Carol Carlson and Linda Saaristo as she goes for a fourth consecutive title.

Proceeds from the Nemadji Women’s Invitational go to the Superior High School girls golf program.

NOTES: Combined, O’Leary and Showalter have won 15 Nemadji Women’s Invitational titles. … A total of 18 golf courses will be represented in Wednesday’s invitational. Nemadji Golf Course leads the way with 23 entrants, but Hoag said players are coming from as faraway  as Florida and Canada. … When the Nemadji Women’s Golf Club began, club meetings were held at members’ homes. “And after the meetings the ladies all stayed to play bridge,” Hoag said. “They were all doctors’ wives or lawyers’ wives back then, pretty much.”

Nemadji Women’s Invitational

Tournament Champions

1947—Mrs. Julius Juel, Nemadji, 86

1948—Mrs. Glen St. Julien, Hibbing, 90

1949—Miss Ione Ogren, Ridgeview, 96

1950—Not available

1951—Mrs. R.W. Johnson, Northland, 88

1952—Carol Ink, Lester Park, 90

1953—Miriamm Anderson, Nemadji, 90

1954—Jean Seaquist, Nemadji, 89

1955—Hazel Leland, Nemadji, 85

1956—Mrs. R.W. Johnson, Northland, 90

1957—Hazel Leland, Nemadji, 86

1958—Carol Marshall, Lester Park, 89

1960—Mrs. Kenneth Berklin, Hibbing, 95

1961—Mrs. Kenneth Berklin, Hibbing, 89

1962—Mrs. Phalin Johnson, Two Harbors (Score unavailable)

1963—Miss Carol Wilson, Bemidji, 92

1964—Mrs. P.H. Stromquist, Ridgeview, 22 (three holes of rain-shortened tournament)

1965-69—Not available

1970—Pamela Berry, Mpls., 76

1971—Lynn Ferr Reiff, St. Louis Mo., 92

1972—Marilyn Magie, Duluth, 80

1973—Katie Bell, Northland, 88

1974—Mrs. James Stuard, Northland, 88

1975—Linda Hanson, Hurley, 95

1976—Peggy Kirsch, Ridgeview, 84

1977—Peggy Kirsch, Ridgeview, 80

1978—Peggy Kirsch, Ridgeview, 79

1979—Peggy Kirsch, Ridgeview, 79

1980—Sara Asta, Northland, 75

1981—Kim Kaiser, Hayward, 86

1982—Kim Kaiser, Hayward, 77

1983—Carol Marshall, Lester Park, 87

1984—Jean Hall, Grand Rapids, 90

1985—Margo Waletzko, Nemadji, 94

1986—Dana Scheff, Cloquet, 83

1987—Jean Gaske, Cook, 85

1988—Sarah Elton, Burnsville, Minn., 79

1989—Debbie Stocke, Enger Park, 82

1990—Deanna Brown, Danbury, 80

1991—Kelly Steen, Luck, 77

1992—Joan Richardson, Gr. Rapids, 79

1993—Tricia Wollack, Hermantown, 77

1994—Evelyn Newton, Trout Lake, 78

1995—Norma O’Leary, Silver Bay, 73

1996—Sue Moline-Liberty, 77

                  Senior—Pi Peterson, 82

1997—Monica Haag, 79;

                  Senior—Barb Fetzek

1998—Debbie Stocke;

                  Senior—Joan Richardson, Grand Rapids

1999—Kelly Steen, 75* (5-hole playoff with Stocke)


2000—O’Leary, 72


2001—Kelly Steen

                  Senior—Pi Peterson

2002—O’Leary, 73

                  Senior—Richardson, 77

2003—O’Leary, 73

                  Senior—Cindy Raab, 76.

2004—Deb Showalter, 70

                  Senior—Richardson, 74



2006—Showalter, 77

                  Senior—Richardson, 77


                  Senior—Mary Meierotto, Nemadji


                  Senior—Cheryl, Mortensen

2009—Showalter, 73

                  Senior — Richardson, 79

2010—O’Leary, 74

                  Senior — TBA

2011—O’Leary, 71

                  Senior—Barb Olson, 86

2012—Showalter, 78

                  Senior—Olson, 82

2013—Maggie Lattery, Poplar, 78 (1-hole playoff with Sholwalter)

                  Senior—Olson, 82