Weather Forecast


Gondik, Heitala win second straight features on ‘Open Wheel’ night at Proctor Speedway

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Superior, 54880
Superior Wisconsin 1226 Ogden Ave. Ste. 1 54880

By Jerry O’Brien

For The Telegram


PROCTOR — It was Open Wheel night at the Proctor Speedway Sunday  featuring Upper Midwest Sprint Series (UMSS) Traditional and Winged Sprint Cars along with WISSOTA Modifieds and Midwest Modifieds. A large crowd of fans crowded into the speedway grandstands for the event on a hot July night.


Proctor Speedway

Open Wheel night

Sunday, July 6

WISSOTA Modified (10 cars)

Feature (20 laps): E.J. Hietala, Cloquet; Nick Musel, Duluth; Deven VanHouse, Silver Bay; Scott Heikkinen, Eveleth; Brian Mikkonen, Iron River; Cory Jorgenson, Hermantown; Zack Drews, Duluth; Jody Bellefeuille, Duluth. DNF: Jeffery Wood, Chisholm; Donnie Lofdahl, Duluth.

Heat 1: VanHouse; Musel; Bellefeuille; Heikkinen; Drews.

Heat 2: Hietala; Jorgenson; Mikkonen; Lofdahl; Wood

WISSOTA Midwest Modified (17 cars)

Feature (20 laps): Jake Gondik, Foxboro; Deven VanHouse, Silver Bay; Jesse Ogston, Duluth; Dan Kingsley, Superior; Lance Solem, Duluth; Cody Carlson, Superior; Andy Inman, Hermantown; Josh Heavirland, Cloquet; Justin Bassa, Hermantown; Chris Bretting, Washburn; Jeremy Lindquist, Ashland; Dale Soumala, Hermantown; Ross Siiter, Duluth. DNF: Josh Overn, Mahtowa; Danny Vang, Brainerd; Dave Mastell, Lino Lakes, Minn.; Dan Doran, Hermantown.

Heat 1: Kingsley; Gondik; Ogston; Solem; Inman; Soumala; Overn; Bretting. DNS: Doran.

Heat 2: VanHouse; Vang; Bassa; Carlson; Mastell; Heavirland; Lindquist; Siitar.

UMSS Winged Sprints

Feature (25 laps): Brooke Tatnell, Forest Lake; Jerry Richert, Forest Lake; Jared Georges, Brainerd; Jamey Ogston, Duluth; Ryan Bowers, Ham Lake; Anna Kouba, Lino Lakes; Leigh Thomas, Duluth; Reed Allex, St. Cloud. DNF: Jennifer Eriksen, Burnsville; Cody Hahn, Oak Grove. DNS; Davey Heskin, St Michaels; Sye Anderson, Brainerd.

Heat 1: Georges; Bowers; Allex; Richert; Ogston; Heskin.

Heat 2: Hahn; Tatnell; Thomas; Eriksen; A. Kouba.

Challenge Race No. 1: Tatnell; Richert; Bowers; Eriksen; Allex. DNS: Anderson.

Challenge Race No. 2: Hahn; Thomas; Georges; A. Kouba; Ogston. DNS Heskin.

Traditional Wingless Sprints (11 cars)

Feature (25 laps): Mike Mueller, Stacey; Rob Caho Jr., Wyoming, Minn.; Chase Viebrock, New Richmond; Jimmy Kouba, Byron, Minn.; Cam Schafer, Glenwood, Minn.; Jake Kouba, Byron; Brad Nelson, Brainerd; Scott Brandt; Mike Walters, Lake Elmo. DNF: Kevin Bradwell, Luck; Alex Peper.

Heat 1: Viebrock; Bradwell; Walters; Peper; Nelson; Brandt.

Heat 2: Caho Jr.; Schafer; Jake Kouba; Mueller; Jimmy Kouba.