Weather Forecast


Bud Light/Dugout Lounge wins fourth straight Pond Hockey title

Wet Bandits’ Chris Sislo, with goggles, plays defense on a member of the Pokegama Pines during Saturday afternoon action in the Great Lakes Pond Hockey Classic at Barker’s Island. (Jed Carlson/

Bud Light/Dugout Lounge won its fourth straight Great Lakes Pond Hockey Classic championship with an 18-16 win over the Wet Bandits Sunday afternoon at Barker’s Island.

The Wet Bandits, which consisted of Adam Johnson, C.J. Makela, James LaPine, Matt Bouvine, Chris Sislo and Dane Morin, led 9-8 at the half.

But Bud Light/Dugout (Dustin LaValley, Kevin Kuklinski, Rheese Carlson, Eric Dahlberg, Kyle Nosan and Dustin Cosgrove) outscored the Bandits 10-1 early in the second half to take an 18-10 lead.

The Wet Bandits finished strong with six straight goals, but it wasn’t enough to complete the rally.

Bud Light/Dugout Lounge went 5-0 through pool play, then defeated D&C Shoes 27-14 in the quarterfinals and Gopher Rejects 27-16 in the semifinals.

The game with D&C Shoes was a rematch of last year’s championship game, when D&C Shoes played under the name Stauber Brothers.

The Wet Bandits also went 5-0 in pool play, then defeated Belknap Liquor/Lounge 19-14 in the semifinals.

NOTES: Members of the Belknap Liquor/ Lounge team were Chris Bachinski, Ryan Smith, Eric Severin, Jake Williams and Mike Lundberg. Playing for the Gopher Rejects were Ben Delwiche, Justin Johnson, Drew Liebaert, Nick Lever and Mike “Oggie” Johnson. … While the number of teams this year was down to 20, the number of players was about the same with the expansion of rosters from five to six players.

Past Winners

Open Division

2005 — Need a Fifth (Tim Nelson, Chad Matushak, Jay Matushak, Kelly Stephens)

2006 — Gopher Rejects (Justin Johnson, Chris Green, Brian Delwiche, Matt Hupila)

2007 — Armadillos (Jeremy Enders, Jamie Dowson, Ryan Johnson, Ryan Sustawenko)

2008 — Lucky’s/Shenannigan’s (Ryan O’Neill, Dan Krenn, Dave Coleman, Andy Klapperick)

2009 — Heavy Metal Hockey (Steve Rodberg, Ryan Vieau, Rheese Carlson, Ben Johnson, Tony Scherber)

2010 — Dodgie’s/Need a Fifth (Chad Matushak, Tim Nelson, Clayton Weiby, Kelly Stephens, Chris Sislo)

2011 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Eric Bausano, Dustin LaValley, Eric Dahlberg)

2012 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Rheese Carlson, Eric Dahlberg, Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley)

2013 —Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Rheese Carlson, Eric Dahlberg, Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley)

2014 — Bud Light/Dugout Lounge (Rheese Carlson, Eric Dahlberg, Kyle Nosan, Kevin Kuklinski, Dustin LaValley, Dustin Cosgrove)

Senior Division

2007 — MHL Fab Four (Rick Eisenmann, Ken Mertz, Gary Kucharyski, Steve Sorenson, Mike Susens)

2008 — Too Old & Cold (Terry Schold, Travis Schold, Greg Kaake, Pete Hanson)

2009 — Rusty Five (Gary Gilbertson, Joel Heikes, Dane Youngblom, Russ Williams, Mike Hinaus)

2010 — Too Old & Cold, (Terry Schold, Travis Schold, Gary Kucharyski, Pete Hanson)

Women’s Division

2009 — Don Leigh’s Ladies (Jill Thompson, Terri Fair, Stephanie Keup, Erica VanDamme, DeeDee Kolanczyk)