Weather Forecast


Adamzak scores ‘Summer Sizzler’ win at Ashland

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
sports Superior,Wisconsin 54880
Adamzak scores ‘Summer Sizzler’ win at Ashland
Superior Wisconsin 1410 Tower Ave. 54880

By Nick Gima

For The Telegram

ASHLAND — Neil Adamzak of Ashland dragged out his racer for the first time this season and it paid off, as he won the 8th annual Six-Cylinder “Summer Sizzler” at the ABC Raceway on Saturday night.

A season-high 89 cars registered for AMSOIL Dirt Track Series racing action on a warm, windy summer evening, with storm clouds moving around the area but again avoiding the northern Wisconsin red-clay oval.

Other parts of a very busy program included the AMSOIL Race of Champions qualifying features for the three WISSOTA-sanctioned divisions and a 50-bike giveaway that drew a huge number of young fans to the track.

The ABC Raceway will host its annual kids’ bike races this week, presented by Chicago Iron & Supply of Ashland. Adult admission tickets are $10, and fans ages 12 and under are admitted free when accompanied by a paying adult.

Hot laps are set for 6:15 p.m., and racing is set to start at 7 p.m. “Race Night” will air live on WBSZ, 93.3 FM, and stream online at, from 4:30 to 6 p.m. with at-the-track news and weather updates.

ABC (Ashland) Raceway

Saturday, July 5

WISSOTA Modifieds

Feature: Steve Stuart, Ashland; Al Uotinen, Superior; Jeff Spacek, Phillips; Scott Hudack, Ashland; Kevin Eder, Ashland; Brian Mikkonen, Iron River; Curt Myers, Cameron; Pat Cook, Washburn; Paul Niznik, Medford; Bill Byholm, Glidden; Rick Rivord, Superior; Dustin Hudack, Ashland; Zack Pagels, Marengo; Steve Lavasseur, River Falls; Travis Nye, Ashland.

Heat 1: Spacek; Uotinen; Lavasseur; Mikkonen; Cook; Pagels; Byholm; Myers.

Heat 2: S Hudack; Stuart; Niznik; Nye; Eder; D Hudack; Rivord.

WISSOTA Super Stocks

Feature: Scott Lawrence, Superior; Shawn McFadden Jr., Ashland; Wayne Stricker, Highbridge; Nick Oreskovich, Mason; Randy Spacek, Phillips; Kevin Burdick, Proctor: Cory Casari, Montreal; Curt Myers, Cameron; Jim Campbell, Two Harbors; Eric Olson, Ladysmith; Don Muzzy, Ironwood, Mich.; Ken Truscott, Greenland, Mich.; Dave Elliott, Minocqua; Myron Basina, Washburn; Greg Kuklinski, Ironwood, Mich.; DJ Keeler, Superior; Mark Smith, Solon Springs; Terry Kroening, Colby.

Heat 1: McFadden; Kuklinski; Stricker; Myers; Kroening; Muzzy; Burdick; Olson; Smith.

Heat 2: Lawrence; Keeler; Spacek; Casari; Campbell; Oreskovich; Truscott; Basina; Elliott.

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds

Feature: Michael Truscott, Chippewa Falls; John Kallas, Hurley; Paul Niznik, Medford; Cole Spacek, Phillips; Cody Carlson, Superior; Paul Suzik, Ironwood, Mich.; Nathan Thums, Wausau; Tad Bretting, Ashland; Duane Dunbar, Marenisco, Mich.; Tanner Hicks, Ashland; Mickey Nosser, Phillips; Tyler Vernon, Ashland; Tanner Byholm, Glidden; Chris Bretting, Washburn; Brad Seavers, Rib Lake; Bill Muhlig, Bessemer, Mich.; Ryan Barningham, Bayfield; Jeff Klopstein, Tomahawk; Darrel Hazelton, Chippewa Falls; Kent Baxter, Colfax; Josh Overn, Mahtowa, Minn.; Dan Melton, Rhinelander; Ryan Adamczak, Ashland; Dennis Baldwin, Bessemer, Mich..

Heat 1: Seavers; Hazelton; Klopstein; Thums; Vernon; C Bretting; Melton.

Heat 2: Niznik; Baxter; Adamzak; Spacek; Dunbar; Byholm; Overn; Barningham.

Heat 3: Truscott; Suzik; Kallas; Carlson; Nosser; T. Bretting; Muhlig; Baldwin.


Feature: Neil Adamzak, Ashland; Tiffany Hudack, Ashland; Dale Coddington, Hayward; Tyler Hudack, Ashland; Peter Jokinen, Mellen; Ron Hmielewski, Marengo; Duane Dunbar, Marenisco, Mich.; Aaron Mashlan, Ashland; Zack Pagels, Marengo; Ken Tyykila, Iron River; Jonathon Popp, Iron River; Ethan Beeksma, Ironwood, Mich.; Forrest Schultz, Ashland; Brendon Ottman, Ashland; DeJay Mihalek, Ashland; Jeremy Lindquist, Ashland; Colten Vernon, Ashland; Adam Traaholt, Ashland.

Heat 1: Hmielewski; Jokinen; Mihalek; Tiffany Hudack; Pagels; Mashlan; Popp; Traaholt; Ottman.

Heat 2: Coddington; Adamzak; Tyler Hudack; Schultz; Beeksma; Dunbar; Tyykila; Vernon; Lindquist.

Pure Stocks

Feature: Glenn Dammer, Duluth; Austin Blom, Saginaw, Minn.; Terran Spacek, Phillips; Matt Deragon, Ashland; Steve Udeen, Superior; Randy Graham, Trego; Andy Udeen, Superior; Matt Hammitt, Cloquet; Annika Hammitt, Cloquet; Jeff Christman, South Range; Chad Nikstad, Superior; Tim Carbon, Highbridge; Andrew Hanson, Iron River; Brandle Pupp, Ashland.

Heat 1: S. Udeen; A. Udeen; Nikstad; Graham; Christman; Pupp; Deragon.

Heat 2: Dammer; Blom; Spacek; Carbon; A. Hammitt; Hanson; M. Hammitt.